The Island of Mozambique

The Island of Mozambique is a beautiful and mysterious destination that only those who dare to venture off the well-worn path go to.   I avoided tourist destinations in Mozambique, choosing instead to trek around the Northern region of the country.  It was one of the best decisions I made on the road. The North is old and windswept. I was the only guest at the backpackers where I stayed.  And if there were other travellers I did not see or meet them.  Then again Ilha is one of those rare destinations: it’s accessible but flies below the radar. Being here was one of the best experiences of my life. I would watch the sun rise out the Indian ocean in the morning, stroll around the wide streets, go the market, walk some more, but bread for breakfast and then hang out with friends.  The only downside is that there is next to no sanitation here so the beach was rather crappy.

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Island of Mozambique

  1. Pingback: Jewelry Making Lot

Leave a Reply

