Meet Zemi John

Zemis at Dan Tokpa market in Cotunou

A boda boda in Kampala

Zemi John is not a person. They are the million and one taxi scooters  the Beninois use to move around the town. Zemi go by different names in other parts of West and East Africa. They are usually the cheapest and fastest way to move around. Helmets are optional except in Rwanda.

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet Zemi John

  1. mel says:

    I must mention, being the “safe” traveller that i am, my first boda-boda ride was not by choice. I was on the outskirts of Kampala after being dropped off by my cab driver and the party went on till the very late hours of the night. There were no cabs nearby other than a boda. My poor soul had to get on a boda if i wanted to get back to the hotel. I wanted to ask for a helmet but I knew there was none. I held on to teh driver for dear life and luckily he got me to the hotel safe that night. I paid UGX 1 000 for the trip, which is just over ZAR 3. Needless to say, I was hooked. On my last day in Kampala we had an accident in my boda right in the middle of Jinja Road, I laughed it off and got back on the boda and headed to Nakumatt.

Leave a Reply

