The Amazing Monsieur Koite

 

Habib Koite is my favourite artist. His music is sublime and transcendent. He is a playful as he is intense. I love that there is never a bad note in his music; his armaments are perfect. I also love his relaxed and intimate vocal style. More than anything, I love the synergy he has with his band Bamada. Formed in 1988, the  band play the talking drum, guitar, bass, drum set, harmonica, violin. calabash and the balafon (played by maestro Keletigui Diabate)

Essential Habib Koite and Bamada

1. Fimani

2. N’teri

3. Din Din Wo

4. I Ka Barra

5. Sambara

6. Fatma

7. Or just get all his albums.

 

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

