Burundi Calling

I am in Burundi, in East Africa, because until I got here last week all I knew about this country was the genocide and the civil war.  Other than doom and gloom my only other knowledge was of Burundi as the homeland of World Music star Khadja Nin and East Africa’s biggest star Kidum.

A week later all I have to say is what a country. Burundi is beautiful and lush with mountains that go and on and on.  The road trip from Kigali to Buja, as we call the capital city, is a visual feast. Here are some pictures.

“Remember to never believe what you see on TV,“ as a local friend told me this morning. Otherwise all you will think of places like Burundi and much of Africa is that you cannot walk to the shop without dodging bullets.Burundi has reminded me of the power of just simply getting out of a comfort zone trusting that the unknown will work out perfectly. I love it here.

I am truly blessed to experience this country and her gracious people.

I am also broke. A visa cost 90 US dollars.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Africa Yetu, Places To Go, People To Meet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burundi Calling

  1. Samke says:

    I agree with you when you say”dont believe what you see on tv”. I love my continent and my country SA.

  2. mostlyuhuru says:

    Wow $90 for a visa? Damn. Would you mind sharing some of these visa costs for West African countries? I’m itching to visit Ghana, Nigeria, Senegal, and Mali. Any other recommendations would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

