Rumour Has It….

It’s not a rumour, actually. It’s in Lonely Planet Africa. And because Lonely Planet is one of the most established travel guide brands globally, whatever gets written in their guides is taken as the gospel truth.  I say feck their gospel. According to them (and many other travel pieces and guidebooks) Africa is dark and savage. We don’t have resources and facilities and all is doom and gloom in their perception of Africa.

According to Lonely Planet, which I bought twice but hardly use Nairobi is Nairobbery and should be approached with cautions. Bull shit. There’s crime. But it doesn’t justify this tag.

According to Lonely Planet, Burundi is not really safe, there are no international ATMs and the only safe hotels in town are the posh ones. BULL SHIT.

Bwiza  has cheap and safe hotels (15-18 000 Francs). Interbank takes Visa and Mastercards  and Burundi post war is a fantastic country. I used to be afraid of coming to Burundi because of the nasty rumours these people peddle about Africa. Now that I am in Buja, I know that these guidebooks UTTERLY useless when it comes to Africa. Rather travel by word of mouth. It’s more reliable.

 

 

 

 

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Places To Go, People To Meet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

