#BucketList Mozambique

Every country has a wow factor. Mozambique has several that make it scandalous to be in South Africa and not know what one of Southern Africa’s top destinations has to offer. I asked Andile Mokhathi, owner of Masupatsela Adventures to share what makes Mozambique a great destination.

Andile Mokhathi

Andile Mokhathi has been to Mozambique four times.

1. Proximity

‘Moz is easy to reach, whether by road or flight. Maputo is less 500km from Joburg. I’ve been to Moz four times with my company and drive there. Places I’ve been to include Beleni/Xai Xai in Macia district. ‘

*A Greyhound ticket to Maputo costs less than R500 one way; and getting there from Pretoria takes less than 6 hours.

2.Affordability

‘Accommodation and activities are affordable as the exchange rate still favours SA.’

Depending on where in Moz you’re going, accommodation options include self-catering apartments, backpackers’ hotels, BnBs and hotels that vary from worn to 5 star luxury)

3. Life’s A Beach

‘Think exotic, post card perfect beaches. Places like Beline also offer private beaches.’

Coastal Moz is more than 2500km long. That’s a lot beach life to explore (or watch from a beach bar) in places like Maputo, Xai Xai, Ponta d’ Ouro, Quilemane, Pemba, Quirimbas Archipelago, Bazaruto….

4. Safety

‘ There is no bad news about crime.’

My client enjoying the warm water in Beline

My client enjoying the warm water in Beline

Andile’s Favourite Things…

Beira is the second largest city in Mozambique, it’s almost close to the centre of Mozambique. While there take a walk around the  city to visit  historical buildings and museum. Maputo offers a great city life, with famous village walks and a rich history of Mozambique. Beline  is on the lagoon, so you get to  enjoy the wide white sandy beaches to themselves. I love Beline’s beaches. I love Maputo for the nightlife, amazing music and memories of lobster hunting in Maputo beach.

Posing next to fishermen's boats in Maputo beach.

Posing next to fishermen’s boats in Maputo beach.

What You Need To Know:

*Arrive cashless and you won’t be in crisis. Banks take visa and mastercard cards.

*You’re screwed if you don’t love seafood because you’ll miss out on the best food ever.

*There’s always someone who speaks English to help you out

*Long distance public transport leaves town around 6am. It doesn’t matter where in Moz you are. You need to be an early bird.

Contact Masupatsela on +2779-551-8356 / +2758-713-2680

Andile: This is my favourite photo. I love posing next to statesmen

Andile: This is my favourite photo. I love posing next to statesmen

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Africa Yetu, Food, Fashion and Drinks, Places To Go, People To Meet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

