One Night in Turmi

Turmi is a village in the Southern region of Ethiopia.  It’s part of the villages in the Omo Valley area, and naturally one of the hardest places to reach. The only public transport comes by way of trucks that you will wait hours to catch. In fact, the transport is so testing, people who live here would rather walk for hours on end than wait for a trucks/bus that may or many not arrive. Home to many of the Hamer people, Turmi has a weekly market on Mondays. One product available at this market is incised gourds, used by local women as shopping basked.  Turmi is also notable for its traditional dances and the bull jumping ceremony, when Hamer men jump over bulls to prove their masculinity. My night here was very organic: sleep under the stars with the sounds of a billion shrilling crickets, and hang out in my kanga because Hamer tribes don’t dress much.

The landscape is worth waiting hours for transport to move between villages.

The landscape is worth waiting hours for transport to move between villages.

Day break Africa :)

Day break Africa 🙂

These gourds serve as everything from coffee mugs to shopping baskets and storage for eggs.

These gourds serve as everything from coffee mugs to shopping baskets and storage for eggs.

From Tumri, I went to a friend's homestead in the village, where there is absolutely no trace of modern life. It remains one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

From Tumri, I went to a friend’s homestead in the village, where there is absolutely no trace of modern life. It remains one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

Turmi at sunset

Turmi at sunset

Street shot, Turmi

Street shot, Turmi

The streets of Turmi

The streets of Turmi

Market day fashion...well, a Hamer woman's every day fashion actually.

Market day fashion…well, a Hamer woman’s every day fashion actually.

I can still smell the fresh air

I can still smell the fresh air

DSC_4445

a typical homestead has several huts and kraals for animals.

DSC_4439

The kitchen

DSC_4389

sunsets

DSC_4449

Beautiful


About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

