The star of Djenne

The people Djenne gather at the Mosque every year after the rainy season to plaster the building with mud, preserving its status as the largest mud building in world. It’s believed that the Mosque started life as palace that was converted into a house of worship in 1240 when sultan Koi converted to Islam. The Mosque as it stands today was built in 1906..

About leratomogoatlhe

I fell in love with traveling Africa on a four day trip to Accra in 2006. I started my journeys around the continent in 2008, when I went to Senegal, and around West Africa to launch my dream of knowing Africa through all my senses. I have been to 24 countries (and counting) over five years of stopping everything in my life to focus on one phenomenal continent. #AfricaRocks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment